Avoiding Traumatic Birth

We’re hearing a lot about traumatic birth lately. It’s always been around, but more women kept quiet about it or maybe didn’t realize there was any other way to give birth. With the explosion of the internet and social networking, women are discovering they had unnecessary, potentially or actually harmful, and often traumatic interventions and events on one of the most important days of their life — birthing their child.

Know your options!

Did you know that in the Knoxville, TN, area you have genuine options to help avoid a traumatic birth? Some are:

  • Natural Childbirth Classes (not hospital sponsored ones, but true learning experiences, such as Bradley or Hypnobirthing)
  • Doulas. Antepartum, birth, and postpartum doulas are available — and our numbers are increasing to give you options
  • Home Birth Midwifery
  • Free-standing Birth Centers
  • ICAN of Knoxville (International Cesarean Awareness Network) local meetings for support, education, and information
  • Knoxville Birth Network meetings, a division of Birth Network), also for information and support
  • Chiropractors and massage therapists (along with other professionals) trained to optimize pregnancy and birth

These are a few of the options available to help you avoid a traumatic birth in the first place, or recover and heal from a previous one or ones.

The question is: Are you taking advantage of these resources?

Every week, I get numerous emails or phone calls from women who say, “If I’d known inducing for non-medical reasons would have led to a cesarean section”, or “I thought about taking a class but didn’t find the time”, or “I thought about using a doula but we didn’t”, or “My doctor said I couldn’t VBAC (vaginal birth after cesarean), so I just scheduled another surgery” or “My doctor said my pelvis was too small/baby too big/ why even try labor”… and on and on.

The emails make me sad for many reasons. They make me sad a woman didn’t get the birth experience she wanted and deserved, but they also make me sad that the useful and wonderful resources available are not being utilized. This is not to say it is a woman’s fault if she is suffering from birth trauma–not all births will go the way we desire them even after making the most concerted efforts. However, if you’re on the fence about seriously exploring your options, your chances of ending up unhappy with your birth experience are going to be far greater.

Interview some midwives, interview some doulas, take childbirth classes. In the U.S., women regrettably educate themselves more about buying a car, or a purse, or finding a good daycare than they educate themselves about the birth of their baby. Interview different OB/GYN’s and hospitals, even. Don’t take your neighbor’s or sister-in-law’s recommendation just because they “liked” their OB/GYN or because he or she was “nice”. Ask questions. What is their cesarean rate? What is nursery and newborn policy? I cannot list here all the interview questions to ask different birth professionals, so research what you desire and make sure your birth team is in line with your desires.

If you have not yet seen some eye-opening films, take the time to do so. The Business of Being Born, Gentle Birth Choices, Pregnant in America are all good starting points. Have your significant other read, “The Birth Partner” by Penny Simkin, a book I advise all of my clients to read. Look into different information about doulas, which can easily be found on well-known and reputable sites such as DONA, CAPPA, and The American Pregnancy Association. Attend one of the often free meetings held by birth organizations.

We’re here to help you have the best birth experience possible.. please take advantage of what’s offered and make the time, make the investment so you don’t later send an email saying, “if only…”. Perhaps there will still be something you didn’t like or that was traumatic during your birth experience, but you will have the satisfaction and empowerment of knowing your options and having done your research. No one can tell you what is the best scenario for you, your baby, and your family. Invest in knowledge.

Resources:

www.pennysimkin.com
www.knoxvillehomebirthservices.com
www.cappa.net
www.ican-online.org
www.dona.org
www.birthnetwork.org
http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=170751447099
www.doulamatch.net
www.thebusinessofbeingborn.com
www.waterbirth.org
www.icpa4kids.com
www.knoxvilledoula.com
www.bradleybirth.com
http://www.americanpregnancy.org/labornbirth/havingadoula.html

All Rights Reserved, 2011, Kimberly Sebeck, CLD, CCCE, Knoxville Doula

One thought on “Avoiding Traumatic Birth

  1. My first birth was actually very traumatic for me. I started out at a birth center and transferred to a hospital. The on-call doctor at the hospital never really said a word to me, he checked me (which I cried begging him to stop because I was in the middle of a contraction and he refused) and broke my water. I had to ask if he had broke my water because he never said a word before hand. The nurse kept telling me to stop pushing (because its so easy to stop involuntary pushing and all) because I was crushing my babies head. She explained that the monitor would stop picking up his heartbeat because of me crushing his head. I remember my fiance constantly telling me I had to breathe because I would hold my breath trying not to push. Finally, she checked me, I was fully dilated and ready to push (imagine that) it took one whole attempted push for him to be delivered. My second birth was a birth center birth. It was an amazing and very healing birth for me. My second was 2lbs 2 inches bigger than my first and was much, much easier on my body than my first.

Leave a Reply

