On being bashful

Pen and Paint

Last week Pen and I went on a journey. I awoke that day knowing the world would feel different when my head hit the pillow again. As I pass through this life I’m learning how significant our perceptions affect our interactions with the world. It’s not often that the world changes, but the way we view it can change completely in an instant.

I’ve been a nanny for five years. During that time I have struggled and grieved and fought against everything I was taught as a child. I have learned not to yell, to control my emotions and to approach stressful situations with the presence of mind to keep fragile relationships intact. It has not been easy. Children trust us to guide them through the big feelings they don’t know how to navigate. Being a nanny has changed me more than any other job I’ve ever had. It has…

View original post 839 more words

Leave a Reply

