Doula Cost & Payment Questions

question-mark-1421017_640

Many more families are using doulas because they hear how valuable they are. The use of doulas are not relegated to “crunchy” or “natural” clients any more. However, if you’re new to the world of doulas, you may have some questions about the fee and payments. Rather than wonder about it — let’s talk frankly about it.

While I can’t speak for all doulas, I can tell you how my pricing and payment is set up.

  • A complimentary, no obligation consultation is available for anyone curious about hiring me as their doula.
  • A $200.00 non refundable deposit holds your spot. Why is it non refundable? Because I may refer out/turn away other clients near your estimated due date to ensure I do not have too many clients. It also helps me schedule any mentees or backups, prepare my birth bag, and helps you to have less than a full balance to pay in the coming months.
  • The remainder of the package you purchased is due by 37 weeks. Why is it due before the birth? Because, simply put, I don’t want to ask you for a check on the way to the hospital or bring that energy transfer (money) into the birth. By 37 weeks our money transactions should not even enter into our energy exchanges, appointments, and interactions. We will have already had our prenatal appointments, classes, and gotten to know one another. My life will revolve fully on being on call for you at that point.
  • Pay how you need up until the deadline of 37 weeks. It doesn’t matter to me if you pay something each month, the full fee at the beginning or the end, etc. What types of payments do I take? Cash, check, credit cards, and PayPal.
  • Discounts are available for postpartum care if you have hired me as your birth doula or if you have purchased in advance a certain amount of hours. Why is this? Again, it helps me with planning and I can focus much more time on your family based on a suggested schedule.
  • Postpartum services in smaller amounts or randomly are available but not at the discount. I usually ask for a weekly check for postpartum services rendered without a contract.
  • Insurance is not yet happily reimbursing for doula clients. Can you file to your insurance and see? YES. I encourage it. I do have a NPI (national provider identification number) and can create an invoice for you to submit after the birth of your baby. Medical Savings Accounts are the easiest way to receive reimbursement, however, your insurance may attribute the charges to your deductible or out of pocket and submitting a form is worth your time.
  • This is my career as a birth professional, not a hobby. My overhead includes rent for an office, class materials, doula materials- many of which are replaced at every birth, continuing education, a life on call not knowing when I could be supporting a client for days at a time, payment processing fees, lending library, self employment taxes, professional organization fees, and a cap on how many clients I can take per month.

I hope this answers some of your questions and if you have specific questions about package pricing, please contact me at kimberly.sebeck@gmail.com

Kimberly Sebeck, CLD, CCCE, HCHD “Knoxville Doula” 2016

 

Leave a Reply

